Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Top Navigation UNotesSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu
Bookmark and Share

Chiara String Quartet Performs in Millard Auditorium

Posted 02/06/2017
Submitted by Ashley Fedigan
Category: Campus Announcements, Student Announcements

The Chiara String performs the third concert in the Richard P. Garmany Chamber Music Series on Thursday, February 9, at 7:30 p.m. in Millard Auditorium. 

This outstanding ensemble will present music by Franz Schubert and Johannes Brahms. The program will also include a new work (String Quartet No. 6) by the celebrated American composer Pierre Jalbert. The Chiara String Quartet is known for performing its concerts from memory. While this is standard for soloists, it is unique for modern-day chamber ensembles, and what it does to the music-making is particularly striking.

In addition to the concert, the Chiara String Quartet will interact with Hartt students and members of the University community while in residence on Wednesday, February 8 through the post-concert reception on Thursday.  The mini-residency events will be free and open to the public.  However, tickets are required for the concert.  Click here for the mini residency schedule. 

A popular feature of the Garmany concert experience is an informal wine and hors d'oeuvres reception, held in the lobby prior to each performance. The receptions offer a cash bar; hors d'oeuvres are complimentary to all ticket holders. Guests may arrive any time during the 6:00 to 7:00 p.m. serving hour, with no advance reservations required.

Admission to the concert is free for University of Hartford students, faculty, and staff with current University ID.  Tickets for the general public are $35, with discounts for seniors, students, and groups.  For tickets, contact the University of Hartford Box Office at 860.768.4228 or 1.800.274.8587 or visit