Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Top Navigation UNotesSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu
Bookmark and Share

Faculty Awards to Strengthen Student Critical Thinking Skills

Posted 02/23/2017
Submitted by Gina Signorello
Category: Campus Announcements

Faculty Awards to Strengthen Student Critical Thinking Skills

(Strategic Plan, Goal 1)

As part of the Strategic Plan’s multi-year strategy to transform the undergraduate academic experience at the University of Hartford, the co-chairs of Strategic Planning Goal 1 solicited faculty proposals for improving student critical thinking skills within a designated course. Critical thinking is one of the four essential learning outcomes (ELO) identified by the university and, along with written communication, is currently being assessed in all programs.

Faculty from across the University submitted proposals in January, and awardees were recently notified. Thirteen projects involving fourteen faculty members were selected for funding, with awards of $2,300 for working on the project, participating in a May workshop, and attending monthly meetings in the 2017-18 academic year. 

The Goal 1 co-chairs are pleased to announce that the following faculty will be supported:

Professor Catherine Borck (A&S): POL 200W, 340, and 341

Professor Matthew Costello (A&S): PSY 405

Professor Andrew Craft (A&S): CH 110 and 111

Professor Sarah Hart (ENHP): EDH 220

Professor Jane Horvath (A&S/Hillyer): EC 420W and “Introduction to Agent-Based Modeling” (CS 1xx/CPLX 1xx)

Professor Michael Horwitz (Hillyer): ASB 111

Professor Patricia Jaeger (Barney): BAR 110

Professors Patricia Mellodge and Ying Yu (CETA): ECE 215 and ECT 111

Professor Patrick Miller (Hartt): TH 475 and TH 476

Professor Tricia Prokop (ENHP): PRPT 520

Professor Hwayeon Ryu (A&S): M 114/115

Professor T. Stores (A&S): ENG 225W

Professor Bin Zhu (A&S): BIO 260W