Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Top Navigation UNotesSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu
Bookmark and Share

Alumni Association Board Members for 2017–18 Announced

Posted 06/09/2017
Submitted by Jim Keener
Category: Campus Announcements

The University of Hartford Alumni Association Board of Directors has elected officers and new members for 2017­-18, including individuals from five states and five generations of graduates. There are 17 women and 12 men on the Board, with an experienced group of 20 members returning. Six members were newly elected. The Board represents a range of careers and University experiences, and all of UHart’s individual colleges are represented. 

The mission of the University of Hartford Alumni Association is to promote lifelong relationships between current and future alumni and the University of Hartford; to support and sustain the objectives of the University; and to serve as an advocate for the University and its alumni.

The Alumni Association is made up of engaged undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral alumni. It partners with alumni relations staff to offer many activities and events for alumni, including the annual “Hawktober” weekend, slated this year for Oct. 20–22, as well as reunions, regional events, community outreach, career development and enhancement workshops, cultural events, and recreational activities. The Association also provides an array of benefits to members, and has sponsored events in various cities around the country.

Joining the Board’s executive committee for 2017–18 is Kerrie Lane Sullivan ’93 (BARNEY) of Glastonbury, Conn., who is newly elected as Treasurer after serving a term as a member-at-large. She will join with returning executive committee members Carolyn Reibling Bligh ’87 (HAS) of Simsbury, Conn. (President); Amy Ekross Quigley ’93 (A&S) of Belmont, Mass. (Vice-President); and Mary Murphy ’04 (A&S) of Madison, N.J. (Governance Committee Chair.

First-time Board members include:

Bryan Boppert ’02 (A&S), from Swampscott, Mass., was elected as a member-at-large. He has 13 years of experience working in higher education and is currently the associate director of the Student Navigation Center at Salem State University. While at UHart, Boppert was involved with Greek life and such community endeavors as Big Brothers, Big Sisters, and Habitat for Humanity. He is now serving as president of the New England Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers (NEACRAO).  

Sean O’Donovan ’14 (A&S), from East Hartford, Conn., was elected as the liaison to the College of Arts and Sciences. After graduating from Sacred Heart University with a master’s degree in 2016, he joined the the WWE as a TV logger/specialist.  Sean is also a freelance videographer. After graduating from UHart, and before he attend SHU, he traveled the country as a consultant to the national chapter of the Theta Chi Fraternity. At UHart, O’Donovan was active in Greek life, a “Red Cap,” and as a Summer Place camp counselor.

Scott Hilt ’96 (BARNEY) from Marlborough Mass., was elected as director, athletics affinity. He is currently a CRM account executive at Ellucian, where he helps institutions apply enterprise technology platforms. At UHart, Hilt was captain of the baseball team, a book scholarship recipient, and graduated Summa Cum Laude.  He inspires children and teenagers to continue to fight cancer through his involvement in the Patient Partner program at Massachusetts General Hospital for Children.

David Joyce ’93 (BARNEY), from Fairfield, Conn., was elected as co-director, regional programs and volunteers. He is chief operating officer and head of transformation at AIG in the Greater New York City area. While at Hartford, Joyce was the recipient of an outstanding student scholarship and participated in Barney’s internship program. He is active in the community, serving on civic planning commitees and coaching youth sports in his hometown.

Madison Norwich ’16 (BARNEY) from Nesconset, N.Y., was elected as co-director, regional programs and volunteers. She graduated last spring and served on the Board as a student representative. Norwich is currently an educational leadership consultant for Delta Zeta sorority and travels the country providing crisis management, leadership, and chapter development. While at Hartford, she served as Delta Zeta president and was a member of Panhellenic, LEAD, and the Student Alumni Association.   

Nancy Bergman Pantierer ’77 (HAS) from Short Hills, N.J., was elected as the liaision to the the Hartford Art School. A successful artist, her paintings and sculptures have been exhibited throughout the country and can be found in collections such as the National Arts Club in New York City, as well as corporate and private collections. Pantierer has a studio in Tribeca in New York City. Grateful for the career opportunities her education at the Hartford Art School afforded her, Pantierer recently established a scholarship in her and her mother’s name.

Terms on the Alumni Board run for three years. The following individuals will continue their service on the Board in 2017-18: Benjamin C. Accardo ’12 (CETA) of West Hartford, Conn. (director, students and young alumni); Anthony G. Barrett ’03 (A&S) of Bloomfield, Conn. (member-at-large); David Bosso M’04 (ENHP) of Berlin, Conn. (College of Education, Nursing and Health Professions liaison): Paul Brand ’02 (A&S), ’02 (CETA) of East Hampton, Conn. (member-at-large); Jolie Rocke Brown ’89 (HARTT) of Houston, Texas (The Hartt School liaision); Michaela Ann Catallozzi ’11 (CETA) of Bristol, Conn. (College of Engineering, Technology, and Architecture liaision); Matthew C. Cooke ’10 (A&S) of Boston, Mass. (director, communications and social media); Amy Edney ’94 (A&S) of San Francisco, Calif. (member-at-large); Mandy Gerstein A’05 (HILLYER), ’07 (BARNEY) of Hoboken, N.J. (Hillyer College liaision); Laura Dinan Haber ’07 (BARNEY) of Kensington, Conn. (member-at-large); John M. Jaramillo M’09 (A&S), M’15 (BARNEY) of Plainville, Conn. (Barney Liaison); Maureen Fulton Leathers ’05 (BARNEY) of Simsbury, Conn. (director, career mentoring); Paul Sittard ’85 (WARD) of Marlborough, Mass. (Board of Regents, ex-officio); Nicholas Milluzzo ’14 (BARNEY) of Boston, Mass. (member-at-large); Kaitlin M. Walsh ’02, M’04 (A&S) of Windsor, Conn. (member-at-large) and Julie Handler Winick A’05 (HILLYER), ’07 (ENHP) of West Hartford, Conn. (member-at-large).

Three students are also a part of the Board.  They are: Cori Ansboro ’18 (ENHP) of Goshen, N.Y. (Student Government representative); Ryleigh Jones ’20 (ENHP) of West Hartford, Conn. (student director); and Marianne Sayamath ’17 (ENHP) of Meriden, Conn. (graduate student director).  Sayamath had previously been on the Board as the SGA representative.  

Information about the University of Hartford Alumni Association and members of the Alumni Board can be seen at