Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Top Navigation UNotesSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu
Bookmark and Share

International Center Faculty Grant Recipients

Posted 08/30/2017
Submitted by Nicole Kurker-Stewart
Category: Campus Announcements

The International Center is pleased to announce the Faculty Grant recipients for the 2017-18 academic year. This grant program provides support for faculty seeking opportunities to expand and strengthen the international dimensions of their teaching, research and engagement at the University of Hartford.

The following faculty members were recently awarded grants to support global initiatives this upcoming year. Congratulations to our recipients!

  • Lisa Zawilinski (ENHP) to support travel to Porto, Portugal, to present at the International Conference on Education and Educational Psychology. Zawilinski presented alongside her colleague, Laurie Henry from the University of Kentucky, on their study of enhancing educator preparation programs to support innovative instructional models in P12 schools. Zawilinski hopes to expand upon her research and investigate opportunities for students to study abroad or visit the University of Hartford.
  • Donna Menhart (Hartt) to support travel to Alberta, Canada to present her research on the Kodály method at the 23rd International Kodály Symposium. The symposium offers new methods and skills to incorporate into the curriculum and share with the music education community. Menhart provides cross-cultural experiences for students by emphasizing world music and dance in her courses.
  • Theodore Sawruk (CETA) to support travel to Bern, Switzerland, to present his paper on the natural ventilation in Connecticut houses of the 1700s and 1800s, at the Advanced Building Skills Conference. Sawruk will promote the University’s architecture program, incorporate new knowledge into the curriculum, and engage with colleagues as a means to establish connections for guest lectures and potential international employment opportunities for CETA and architecture graduates.

For more information about the International Center Faculty Grant Program, please contact Nicole Kurker-Stewart at 860-768-5101 or