Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Top Navigation UNotesSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu
Bookmark and Share

Dean of Undergraduate Learning Jim Shattuck Named Coordinator of Student Retention

Posted 11/22/2017
Submitted by Meagan Fazio
Category: Campus Announcements, Student Announcements

Following is a message from University President Gregory Woodward:

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to announce that Jim Shattuck, our dean of undergraduate learning, will also serve as our coordinator of student retention, effective immediately. Jim will work with a small team from a variety of units on campus and has already begun his efforts.

As you all know, improving retention is a major goal for me as president. After several months on the job, it is clear to me that we are already working hard at retention, with a range of efforts coming from Student Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Financial Aid. It is also clear to me that there is more we can do, and that our current efforts are not as coordinated as they should be.

Jim and his team will build on the efforts of the Retention Task Force that met for two years, co-chaired by Lee Peters and Marty Roth; Jim was a member of that task force. Jim’s team will focus its efforts in the near term on these major areas:

  • Identifying students who are at risk for leaving the institution, especially those in their first and second years
  • Designing and coordinating supports and interventions for those students, including practices in the Center for Student Success, Student Learning, CAPS, Residential Life, Student Success Collaborative and the Invisible Student Network
  • Working closely with the Office of Admission and Financial Aid in addressing retention factors and interventions for new and returning students
  • Closely monitoring and assessing our success
  • In the longer term, this group will begin work on re-examining our entire First Year Experience, beginning with Orientation, to try and bond students ever more closely with our university community.

Jim’s team will consist of

  • Chuck Colarulli, Senior Associate Provost
  • Suzanne Anderson McNeil, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Victoria Hampton, Director of Financial Aid and Acting Dean of Enrollment Management
  • Michael Ormsby, Director, Student Success Center and Orientation
  • Debra Hagen-Foley, Director of Institutional Effectiveness
  • Jessica Nicklin, Associate Dean of Arts and Sciences

Irwin Nussbaum, who served for many years as a senior member of the Student Affairs team and who continues to help us with launching the Student Success Collaborative, will provide additional assistance. I am sure, however, that Jim and colleagues would welcome ideas and suggestions from all quarters.

Dean Shattuck will continue to report to the provost but will update me regularly on progress and new ideas. I know you join me in supporting Jim and thanking him for taking on this very important role.

Gregory Woodward