Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Top Navigation UNotesSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu
Bookmark and Share

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2018 Writing Contests

Posted 04/16/2018
Submitted by Benjamin Grossberg
Category: Campus Announcements, Student Announcements

Congratulations to the winners of the 2018 writing contests, coordinated by the Department of English and Modern Languages, and funded by the generous support of our alumni! 

We are proud to be giving away over $8,000 in prize money this year, to excellent University of Hartford writers in ten different categories, including original poetry and fiction, essays on American literature, and essays using interdisciplinary approaches. 

Below you will find the list of those honored for their writing achievement!

Please join us for a reception to celebrate these writers on May 4th, at 1:30 PM, in Regents Commons in the Shaw Center.


Joseph Doyle Prize for Best Personal Essay Written in an Introductory Class

First Place: Elora Rosedale  

Second Place: Abby Myers  


Joseph Doyle Prize for Best Critical Essay Written in an Introductory Class

First Place: Danielle Berry

Second Place: Caya Tull

Third Place: Allison Tappen

Honorable Mentions: Abby Myers & Erika Rohrberg


Melvin Goldstein Awards for Papers Using Interdisciplinary Approaches

First Place: Tim Applebee

Second Place: Stefanie Szot

Third Place: Gabriella Silva

Honorable Mention: Abena Adutwum


Phyllis B. Abrams Awards in the Personal Essay

First Place: Alondra Bermudez       

Second Place: Catherine Gleason

Third Place: Jill Ernst

Honorable Mention: Nicole Gargantilla   


Joseph Doyle Prize for Critical Essays on American Literature

First Place: Michelle Mor      

Second Place: Jonathan Dowst      

Third Place: Kimberly Aldoy            

Honorable Mention: Ricky Sandella


Phyllis B. Abrahms Awards in Fiction

First Place: Patrick Clancy-Geske   

Second Place: Sarah Sparkowski    

Third Place: Maxx Gianni & Dyani Monroe           

Honorable Mention: Bette King


Phyllis B. Abrahms Awards in Drama

First Place: Ricky Sandella    

Second Place: Jack Desormier       

Third Place: Gabrielle Filloux           


Phyllis B. Abrahms Awards for Critical Essays on Literature Other than American Literature

First Place: Catherine Gleason       

Second Place: Dyani Monroe

Third Place: Patrick Clancy-Geske 

Honorable Mention: Bette King     


Phyllis B. Abrahms Awards in Poetry

First Place: Gabriella Navas 

Second Place (tie): Kimberly Aldoy & Sarah Sparkowski         

Third Place (tie): Claire Copeland & Gary Huang

Honorable Mentions: Holly Critchley & Nicholas Muise        


Minerva Nieditz Awards for Metaphysical Poetry

First Place: Gary Huang         

Second Place: James Fagan           

Third Place: Matteo Gaudio


Questions?  Please contact Professor Grossberg at x4944.