Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Top Navigation UNotesSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu
Bookmark and Share

Photography MFA Exhibition "Sustained Pause" Opens at Joseloff Gallery

Posted 08/01/2018
Submitted by Jesele Paragone
Category: Campus Announcements

Sustained Pause is a group exhibition presenting the work of twelve photographers, all from the 2018 graduating class of the International Low Residency MFA in Photography at the Hartford Art School.

This exhibition is on view August 6-11, 2018, with a public reception on Friday, August 10, 7 - 9 p.m.. Gallery hours are 11 a.m. - 5 p.m. daily.

The exhibition draws together a diverse range of approaches to the medium and its attendant subject matter, collectively demonstrating the abundance of our visual world in its varying states of wonderment, perplexity, and joy. The show will feature an array of portraiture engaged with the complexities of aging, trauma and interpersonal relationships, along with work that shifts its focus toward the natural world and our sometimes fraught relationship to it. 

Other artists included in the show move toward photography's boundaries, employing it as a means of extending the formal practices of sculpture and essay-writing. Also on display will be a collection of photo book publications produced by the artists.

The International Low Residency MFA in Photography at the Hartford Art School was founded in 2010 as the first graduate art program focused on the intersection of art, documentary practice, and the photo-based book. The faculty includes Director - Robert Lyons, Joerg Colberg, Mary Frey, Alice Rose George, Alec Soth and Michael Vahrenwald. Notable guest artists and critics have included Dru Donovan, Felix Hoffman, Lisa Kereszi, Hiroh Kikai, Wiebke Loeper, Ute Mahler, Tod Papageorge, John Priola, Michael Schaefer, Paul Schiek, Mark Steinmetz, Hannes Wanderer, and Thomas Weski.

Photography in the exhibition was created by the following MFA candidates:

Victor Alcantara • Jaclyn Brown • Mat Brutger • Paul Cohen • Alan Huck • Molly Peters • Stuart Richardson • Rick Schatzberg • Marshall Scheuttle • Ernesto Solana • Antonis Theodoridis • Alex Christopher Williams