Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Top Navigation UNotesSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to Search
Mobile Menu
Bookmark and Share

Meet the Faculty Senate Officers for 2018–19

Posted 09/06/2018
Submitted by Lydia Chiappetti
Category: Campus Announcements

Last spring, the Faculty Senate elected a slate of officers for the 2018-19 academic year. The new officers are:

Anne E. Pidano-Chair Faculty Senate

In addition to her current position of Professor in the Department of Psychology (College of Arts & Sciences), Dr. Anne Pidano has been elected to a third term as Chair of the Faculty Senate (2018-2019). She has served on the senate since 2013 in various roles: Chair of the Awards and Nominations committee, Secretary of the Senate, and, currently, Chair of the Senate.

Dr. Anne Pidano earned her undergraduate degree in psychology at Smith College and, after her academic training at SUNY Albany, completed an internship in clinical psychology at the University of Virginia Hospital. After working for several years in Rochester, NY, in 1986 she returned to New England and worked for over 19 years at the Village for Families and Children in Hartford, first as Program Director and Vice President of Child Guidance Services and then as Director of Psychology Internship Training. She is licensed as a psychologist in Connecticut and spent many years supervising both interns and staff at the Village. Although Dr. Pidano began teaching on a part-time basis in the Graduate Institute of Professional Psychology in 1995, 2005-2006 marked her first year as a full-time faculty member. Her research on the role that pediatricians play in behavioral health, integrated health care, and the training of clinical child psychologists reflect both her past experience and on-going interests.

Jonathan Daigle-Vice Chair of Faculty Senate

Jonathan Daigle is an Associate Professor of English in Hillyer College. He has been on the Faculty Senate since 2014, last year as the Senate Secretary. He will return to the University Curriculum Committee for a second year this fall. In the past, he coordinated the Hillyer Honors program and served on the President’s Commission on Full-Time Faculty Compensation, the University Student Retention Committee, and various commissions, task forces, and review boards.

Professor Daigle teaches surveys of African American and Non-western Literature, as well as first-year composition and literary analysis courses. His research focuses on race, genre, and theories of progress in Gilded Age American literature. He has published essays in leading journals on American literature. Prior to coming to the University of Hartford in 2008, Daigle was a Visiting Assistant Professor at Wake Forest University. He completed his graduate work at the University of Wisconsin in Madison.

Michael Wininger-Secretary of the Faculty Senate

Michael Wininger is an Associate Professor of Rehabilitation Sciences in ENHP. He has been on the Faculty Senate since 2016, and serves as co-chair of the Faculty Affairs Committee and serves on the University Graduate Council. Within ENHP, he has served on the Advisory Council for Research, Academic Affairs committee, and Faculty Executive committee, and he coordinated the ENHP Honors Program. Within the Department of Rehabilitation Sciences, he is the chair of the Research Faculty Committee, and is Graduate Admissions Chair for the Prosthetics & Orthotics Program.

Professor Wininger specializes in neuroscience, robotics, and data analytics. He has published in top journals in surgery, cardiology, biomedical engineering and rehabilitation, and is a statistician in clinical practice. His primary teaching appointment is in the Prosthetics & Orthotics Program, but he enjoys teaching in the Physical Therapy Program, Biomedical Engineering, and Physics. Professor Wininger received his PhD in Biomedical Engineering from Rutgers University.